my favorite film genre: the off-beat romance

It’s taken me a while to admit this to myself, let alone the world, but alas: I love romantic comedies and chick flicks. I appreciate that often they aren’t the best films cinematically, but I enjoy them. And yes, I did see I Don’t Know How She Does It on opening weekend.

But my favorite film genre is more specific:

The Off-Beat Romance.

(500) Days of Summer. Stranger Than Fiction. 10 Things I Hate About You. Juno.

I recently saw two films from this category, hence the realization that it is my favorite, because they were freaking fun:

One Day: Covers twenty years of one relationship, showing only the July 15ths. Being the Anne Hathaway fan I am, I had to see this film, and it made me a Jim Sturgess fan as well (previously I had only seen him in Across the Universe – also fabulous – so couldn’t really call myself a Jim Sturgess Fan so much as a Jim Sturgess in Across the Universe Fan). I also wanted to steal her wardrobe for a lot of the film (an excellent element of the Off-Beat Romance genre: fantastic fashion.). Then realized that a lot of it is already in my closet…

You Instead: What’s cool about this film – and also, what’s a bit weird at first – is that it takes place over the course of an entire day at a music festival and feels as if it doesn’t really skip parts. It’s about a cool guy in a band (Luke Treadaway) a cool girl in a band (Natalia Tena) who develop an intuitive bond over their initial mutual hatred (yeah, sometimes any romance is cliché, but sometimes it works!) and their passion for music! Now unfortunately, this film doesn’t have a US release date…yet…but it’s a great excuse to visit the UK I guess :)

Off-Beat Romances are often about characters who think they’re too cool for romance and then they fall for it anyway. Kind of like my relationship with rom-coms. Well consider this my crazy cliché public declaration of love in the end when the guy (usually the guy) is like screw being indie cool, YOU ARE AWESOME.

See what I’ve read, watched, and listened to this week at dodgy’s culture diary :)

Leave a Reply

