read what you want

There is so much more I still have to say about my travels, but all that’s on my mind right now is my reading list. I start University in about a month, and in the meantime, I have to read lots and lots of Victorian novels. It’s been a bit of a stressful summer, because I have to get through all the novels, which I enjoy, but I also enjoy reading books for fun, so I’ve been faced with the terrible dilemma of having to read for fun less. Which has allowed me to appreciate it all the more.

One problem I’ve had with reading for fun is that I feel obliged to read what people recommend to me. I really do want to read what all of my friends and mentors recommend, but i also want to find my own books. So I realized that one of the most fun things to do is to go to a bookstore and see what titles and covers and concepts attract me.

This summer I’ve realized that I like to balance required reading with a different kind of pleasure reading. Since I’m reading complicated dense crazy plot full of characters novels, I’ve gravitated towards light non-fiction and self-help – And it’s actually benefited my reading greatly.


One morning at Borders I came upon ‘The Happiness Project’ by Gretchen Rubin. I will say more about this book and project in a future post so that I can get to the point right now – her quest to find happiness in her life inspired me to also be happy and to realize what makes me happy. Realizing that working hard and completing Uni-related goals each day has made me much happier and less stressed about completing the goals.

My point: If I had worked only on my reading list and didn’t let myself choose what to read for fun, I would be more stressed and making less progress on my work right now. i learned many things from ‘The Happiness Project’ (that I will share later), and that’s just one example of how reading what you want – or more generally, doing what you want – can actually make you a better worker on the required stuff :)

Leave a Reply

