this is my interpretation

my monthly new years resolution update!

1. postpone certain procrastinatory activities until homework is complete

i still haven’t mastered this, but the cycles are working. a couple of weeks ago i worked hard towards splitting up long-term assignments, but when everything comes up at once this becomes harder.

2. find more breakfast food options

eeeh…i did make devilled eggs. i need more practice with that. also, apples with peanut butter is better than apples alone, i think.

3. expand my cooking repertoire

still haven’t made anything but fajitas…perhaps carrot cake this week, but that’s baking, which isn’t as much of a problem for me.

4. distribute holiday presents/cards in a timely manner

valentines day card-making was a delightful success.

5. come up with some sort of exercise routine

now that the weather is nicer i can bike again! that’s really my favourite form of exercise as long as the temperature agrees.

6. budget my spending

the new philosophy is to only buy what is necessary. i love this suggestion from one of my favourite sites, smart, pretty, and awkward:

How to be Prettier: Thinning out your closet is one of the fastest ways to become more stylish. The more clothes I have in my closet, the less creative I tend to be with my outfits.

inspiring! and it does work.

7. read 50 new books <— this is my main one

see my progress on the 2010 reading tab!

8. see 10 plays

i saw ‘the brothers grimm spectaculathon’ and ‘an evening with nick and jane’ at school. and i was in two plays, but i’m not counting those. spring break is coming up, and i’m planning on seeing lots more.

9. watch 43 movies

I watched the fascinating documentary ‘Man on Wire,’ re-saw one of my favourite classics, ‘Angus, Thongs, and Perfect Snogging,’ wondered what all the hype about ‘Sixteen Candles’ ever was, became intrigued by ‘(500) Days of Summer,’ and just got back from Tim Burton’s ‘Alice in Wonderland.’

10. get training in shakespearean acting

still applying for summer programs…

11. visit 10 museums/aquariums/historic sites

we went back to the museum of science, and my latin class had a field trip to the mfa.

12. consistently put nerdfighter notes in john green books at bookstores

i admit to being lazy about this lately, although i have been getting more responses from people who have received my notes, which makes me very happy!

13. post on my blog more regularly

i’ve decided to post every tuesday and thursday, and i’ve been sticking to it so far!

14. attend 10 concerts

i haven’t made any progress on this one.

15. reread through the potter series

hopefully i’ll get through a lot more over spring break.

this is the book that i use to document my resolutions:


Leave a Reply

